Mazda CX-50 Insurance Guide 2026

Full coverage costs, ADAS-to-insurance analysis, the real trim ladder, and small SUV buyer essentials for the 2026 Mazda CX-50.

By Polly · Updated September 2026 · 10 trims covered · National rates

What Is the Mazda CX-50?

The 2026 Mazda CX-50 is a five-seat small SUV built at Mazda Toyota Manufacturing in Huntsville, Alabama, and pitched at the outdoor end of the segment. Both primary classifiers put it in the small class: EPA files every 2026 configuration as a Small Sport Utility Vehicle and IIHS lists it as a small SUV, so its natural cross-shops are the Toyota RAV4, Honda CR-V and Subaru Forester rather than the larger two-row crossovers. Mazda prices it from $29,900 to $42,900 across ten trims, excluding a $1,595 destination and handling charge.

Two structural features follow every buyer into their insurance quote. First, all-wheel drive is standard on all ten trims with no front-wheel-drive option at any price: i-Activ AWD on the gas trims, electric AWD on the hybrids. That is part of the vehicle's identity, but it also means every buyer absorbs all-wheel-drive replacement cost and repair complexity in their premium regardless of where they live. Second, the core i-Activsense suite, including blind spot monitoring, Smart Brake Support with pedestrian detection, lane-keep assist and rear cross traffic alert, is standard from the entry 2.5 S Select. Advanced driver assistance systems intervene to prevent crashes before they happen, and carriers that factor them at quote see that breadth on the cheapest CX-50 Mazda sells.

Three powertrains are offered. The SKYACTIV-G 2.5L naturally aspirated four makes 187 hp and 185 lb-ft on regular fuel and powers the four 2.5 S trims. The hybrid makes 219 hp with an eCVT and standard electric all-wheel drive, and is EPA-rated at 38 MPG combined. The SKYACTIV-G 2.5 Turbo makes 256 hp on premium fuel and 227 hp on regular. That choice, together with where a trim sits on a $13,000 ladder, is the main vehicle-side variable in what a CX-50 costs to insure.

What is the 2026 Mazda CX-50?
The 2026 Mazda CX-50 is a five-seat small SUV in ten trims from $29,900 to $42,900, excluding a $1,595 destination charge. Gas, hybrid and turbo powertrains are offered, all-wheel drive is standard throughout, and it earns NHTSA 5-Star Overall and IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK+.
How many trims does the 2026 Mazda CX-50 have?
Ten. Four naturally aspirated 2.5 S trims from $29,900, three hybrids from $34,750, and three 2.5 Turbo trims from $37,900 to $42,900, all excluding a $1,595 destination charge. There is no plain 2.5 S trim in Mazda's 2026 price table.

Is the Mazda CX-50 Right for You?

Reasons to buy

Reasons it may not be the right fit

Insurance and ownership at-a-glance

Is the 2026 Mazda CX-50 worth buying?
For buyers who want standard all-wheel drive, standard blind spot monitoring at the entry price, and a choice of gas, hybrid or turbo power, yes. Weigh the IIHS Poor whiplash grade and the absence of a front-drive option against that.

How Much Does It Cost to Insure a Mazda CX-50?

$2,084 Full coverage per year (CarEdge)
-$272 vs. CarEdge popular-SUV average
26 / 25 / 38 EPA MPG combined: gas / turbo / hybrid
63% Value retained at 5 years
i-Activsense AEB, BSM, LKA standard all 10 trims
$29,900 Starting MSRP, excludes $1,595 destination

One published model-specific figure sits behind this page. CarEdge puts full coverage on a Mazda CX-50 at about $2,084 per year, and states that this is $272 below its own national average for popular SUV models, which places that average at $2,356. CarEdge's stated basis is a 40-year-old good driver with full coverage and good credit, about 13,000 miles a year, on a single-car policy for a brand-new vehicle with no multi-car discount. For wider scale, Insurify puts the national average for full coverage across all vehicle types at $1,707 per year.

What this page will not tell you is what each trim costs. No publisher measures per-trim CX-50 premiums, and the previous version of this page carried a $1,900 to $3,100 band, five per-trim dollar ranges and a $500-to-$800 turbo premium that no source had ever published. Those figures have been removed rather than re-credited. Where this page discusses trim-level cost below, it gives direction and the reasoning behind it, not invented dollars. To understand what full coverage includes and what your lender requires, see Polly's guide on Car Insurance Coverage Types Explained.

Two structural facts shape the baseline. All-wheel drive is standard on every trim with no front-drive alternative, so that replacement cost and repair complexity sit in every buyer's premium; the Honda CR-V and Toyota RAV4 both offer a front-drive entry grade, the Subaru Forester does not. Working the other way, the core i-Activsense suite is standard from the $29,900 entry trim, so carriers that factor active safety at quote see it on the cheapest CX-50 Mazda sells.

How much does it cost to insure a 2026 Mazda CX-50?
CarEdge puts full coverage at about $2,084 a year, which it says is $272 below its own average for popular SUV models. That assumes a 40-year-old good driver with good credit. No publisher measures per-trim CX-50 premiums, so this page states none.

How Mazda CX-50 Safety Features Affect Insurance

The 2026 Mazda CX-50 earns NHTSA 5-Star Overall (NHTSA SafetyRatings, 2026 Mazda CX-50 SUV AWD), with five stars for frontal crash, five for side crash and four for rollover. NHTSA files the gas and hybrid CX-50 separately and returns the same result set for both. On the IIHS side, the 2026 CX-50 earns TOP SAFETY PICK+, the organization's highest designation (IIHS ratings).

The award is real, and the detail underneath it is mixed. The crash tests are clean: small overlap front driver-side and passenger-side, moderate overlap front on the updated test, and side on the updated test all earn Good. Three other rows do not. IIHS rates the CX-50 Poor for whiplash prevention. Front crash prevention vehicle-to-vehicle 2.0 earns Acceptable rather than Good, while front crash prevention pedestrian earns Good. Headlights are graded Good on some trims and Acceptable on others, which IIHS labels "varies by trim/option". Seat belt reminders earn Good and the child-seat anchors earn the top Good+ grade. The rating applies to 2023-26 models and rests on a 2023 CX-50 test vehicle.

The whiplash result is the one worth pausing on. It is a seat-and-head-restraint measure, and rear-impact neck injuries are a common source of bodily injury claims, so a Poor grade there is a live consideration on a vehicle that is otherwise strong. The headlight split is a reason to check the grade attached to the specific trim you are quoting.

Smart Brake Support - Front Automatic Emergency Braking

What it does: a forward camera and radar detect vehicles, cyclists and pedestrians ahead, and the system brakes automatically when a collision looks imminent and the driver has not responded. It targets front-to-rear collisions and pedestrian strikes, two of the largest sources of property damage liability and bodily injury claims.

What the research shows: HLDI has studied this feature on Mazda's own fleet, which makes it unusually relevant here. In HLDI Bulletin Vol. 42 No. 30, measured on 2015-2023 Mazda vehicles, front AEB with forward collision warning was associated with a 13 percent lower property damage liability claim frequency, a 9 percent lower bodily injury liability claim frequency and a 3 percent lower collision claim frequency, all statistically significant. Those are Mazda-fleet results, not industry-wide figures. Across ten manufacturers, HLDI's compendium puts front AEB at 14.4 percent lower property damage liability, 3.0 percent lower collision and 23.6 percent lower bodily injury liability claim frequency. In both studies claim frequency fell while claim severity rose, because the crashes the system does not prevent tend to be the costlier ones. See Polly's guide on How Car Safety Features Lower Your Insurance Rate.

Which trims have it: Standard on all ten trims, from the $29,900 2.5 S Select to the $42,900 2.5 Turbo Premium Plus. Pedestrian detection is standard throughout as well, so every CX-50 buyer gets the full front AEB benefit regardless of trim.

Blind Spot Monitoring and Rear Cross-Traffic Alert

What it does: radar watches the rear blind zones and warns during a lane change, while Rear Cross Traffic Alert catches vehicles crossing behind you when reversing. These crashes are lower severity than front collisions but happen often, so they generate a steady stream of property damage liability claims.

What the research shows: The same HLDI bulletin studied this pair on 2015-2023 Mazda vehicles, where the two systems share radar hardware and cannot be separated. Blind spot detection bundled with rear cross traffic alert was associated with statistically significant claim-frequency reductions across every coverage type, ranging from 4 percent for collision to 13 percent for bodily injury liability. Read that as a range across coverages, which is how HLDI publishes it, rather than as a single headline number. Across ten manufacturers, HLDI's compendium puts blind spot warning at 7.1 percent lower property damage liability, 2.1 percent lower collision and 8.2 percent lower bodily injury liability claim frequency.

Which trims have it: Standard on all ten trims from the $29,900 2.5 S Select, and IIHS records it as standard equipment on this vehicle. IIHS records blind spot detection as optional on the 2026 Honda CR-V, and Subaru lists Blind-Spot Detection with Rear Cross-Traffic Alert inside a $1,200 option package on the Forester Premium. That is the CX-50's clearest active-safety advantage in this comparison set.

Lane-Keep Assist and Lane Departure Warning

What it does: Lane Keep Assist applies light corrective steering when the CX-50 drifts out of its lane without a turn signal, and Lane Departure Warning alerts earlier in the same sequence without steering. Both target run-off-road and lane-crossing crashes, which produce serious injuries and high-severity claims.

What the research shows, and this one cuts against the feature: HLDI's cross-manufacturer compendium found no statistically significant claim-frequency benefit for lane departure warning: property damage liability down 0.2 percent, collision down 0.3 percent, and a 6.2 percent increase in bodily injury liability claim frequency. On Mazda's own fleet the picture is better when the feature is bundled, because adding lane departure prevention to the front AEB package moved HLDI's measured bundle to a larger claim-frequency reduction. The honest summary is that lane keeping earns its place on crash-avoidance grounds rather than on a demonstrated claims saving, and a carrier is unlikely to price it on its own.

Which trims have it: Lane Keep Assist and the Lane Departure Warning System are standard on all ten trims.

Smart Brake Support - Reverse (Rear AEB)

What it does: Smart Brake Support - Reverse detects obstacles directly behind the CX-50 at low speed during reversing and applies the brakes automatically. This addresses backing accidents in parking lots and driveways, a common source of property damage claims.

What the research shows: This is the strongest claim-frequency result of any feature here. Across ten manufacturers, HLDI's compendium puts rear AEB at 28.8 percent lower property damage liability claim frequency and 8.7 percent lower collision claim frequency. Backing collisions are cheap individually and relentless in aggregate, which is why removing them moves the frequency number so far.

Which trims have it: Mazda lists Rear Smart Brake Support under the top 2.5 Turbo Premium Plus, and IIHS records rear automatic braking as optional on this vehicle rather than standard. Mazda's 2026 pricing release does not publish a trim-by-trim availability grid for this feature and its online trim comparison tool serves no specification text to a reader outside a browser, so this page does not state a cut-off trim. Confirm rear AEB on the specific car you are quoting.

What safety rating does the 2026 Mazda CX-50 have?
NHTSA 5-Star Overall, with five stars frontal, five side and four rollover. IIHS awards TOP SAFETY PICK+ for 2026. Read the detail: crash tests are Good, but whiplash prevention is Poor, front crash prevention vehicle-to-vehicle is Acceptable, and headlights vary by trim.
Which Mazda CX-50 features lower insurance costs?
Smart Brake Support and Blind Spot Monitoring, both standard on every trim. On 2015-2023 Mazda vehicles, HLDI measured front AEB with forward collision warning against a 13 percent lower property damage liability claim frequency and a 9 percent lower bodily injury claim frequency.
Does i-Activsense qualify the CX-50 for insurance discounts?
It can, though it varies by carrier. Blind spot monitoring, automatic emergency braking with pedestrian detection and lane-keep assist are standard on every CX-50 trim, and those are the features insurers most consistently recognise. Not every carrier applies the discount at quote, so ask.

Which Mazda CX-50 Trim Is Cheapest to Insure?

The entry 2.5 S Select should be the cheapest CX-50 to insure and the 2.5 Turbo Premium Plus the most expensive, and the reason is replacement cost rather than equipment. The core i-Activsense suite is identical on every trim, so the safety side of the quote does not change as you climb. What changes is a $13,000 spread in what the car costs to replace after a total loss, and, on the Turbo trims, a turbocharger, intercooler and charge cooling hardware that cost more to put right after a collision.

No publisher measures per-trim CX-50 premiums, so this page prints none. The only published model-level figure is CarEdge's roughly $2,084 a year, a single number for the nameplate rather than a per-trim series. An earlier version of this page showed five per-trim dollar ranges credited to segment data; no publisher had produced them, and they have been removed rather than re-credited.

What you can act on is the published price ladder, which drives replacement cost directly. The full ten-trim table appears in the trim section below. In summary: the four naturally aspirated 2.5 S trims run $29,900 to $34,900, the three hybrids $34,750 to $40,150, and the three 2.5 Turbo trims $37,900 to $42,900, all excluding $1,595 destination and handling.

Which Mazda CX-50 trim is cheapest to insure?
The entry 2.5 S Select at $29,900 should be, because it carries the lowest replacement cost while keeping the same core i-Activsense equipment as every other trim. The $42,900 2.5 Turbo Premium Plus sits at the other end on both counts.
Is the Mazda CX-50 Turbo more expensive to insure?
Expect it to be. The 2.5 Turbo starts $8,000 above the entry trim and tops out at $42,900, and turbocharged hardware costs more to repair. No publisher measures the CX-50's per-trim premium gap, so this page gives direction rather than a dollar figure.

Mazda CX-50 vs. Competitor Insurance Costs

The three vehicles a CX-50 shopper is most likely to also drive are the Subaru Forester, Honda CR-V and Toyota RAV4. Each price below came from that manufacturer's own newsroom rather than a listing site, and the basis was checked at the source, because a listing site reprints each maker's figure without putting them on one footing. Mazda, Subaru and Honda all publish a destination-excluding MSRP, so those three compare in dollars. Toyota's excludes a dealer processing and handling fee under a different label, so this page treats the RAV4 comparison as directional rather than publishing a dollar gap against it.

Vehicle Base MSRP Price basis Blind spot detection IIHS 2026
2026 Mazda CX-50 $29,900 (2.5 S Select) Excludes $1,595 destination Standard on all 10 trims TOP SAFETY PICK+
2026 Subaru Forester $29,995 (Forester) Excludes $1,450 destination $1,200 option package on Premium TOP SAFETY PICK+
2026 Honda CR-V $30,920 (LX 2WD) Excludes $1,450 destination Optional, per IIHS No award
2026 Toyota RAV4 $31,900 (Hybrid FWD) Excludes a processing and handling fee; not comparable On the entry LE grade Not yet rated

Prices from Mazda, Subaru, Honda and Toyota newsrooms, fetched 2026-08-31. No annual premium column appears because no publisher figure for the Forester, CR-V or RAV4 could be verified; the earlier version of this table showed three competitor dollar bands nobody had published. "Not yet rated" means IIHS has published no 2026 RAV4 rating at all, which is different from a vehicle that was rated and won nothing.

Mazda CX-50 vs. Subaru Forester

This is the closest match in the set and the entry prices are effectively identical: $29,900 against $29,995 on the same destination-excluding basis, a $95 difference that is not a reason to choose either. Both are all-wheel drive on every trim, so neither offers a front-drive way to lower the insurance floor. The CX-50's advantage is equipment breadth: blind spot monitoring is standard on all ten trims, while Subaru sells Blind-Spot Detection with Rear Cross-Traffic Alert inside a $1,200 option package on the Forester Premium and does not list it as available on the base Forester at all. The Forester's advantage is its IIHS card. Both hold TOP SAFETY PICK+, but the Forester earns Good for whiplash prevention where the CX-50 earns Poor, Good for front crash prevention vehicle-to-vehicle where the CX-50 earns Acceptable, and one Good for headlights where CX-50 grades vary. Weight standard equipment and pick the Mazda; weight rated safety detail and pick the Subaru.

Mazda CX-50 vs. Honda CR-V

The CR-V is the volume choice and its structural advantage is front-wheel drive. An LX 2WD starts at $30,920 excluding a $1,450 destination charge, and front drive carries lower replacement cost and simpler drivetrain repair than the CX-50's mandatory all-wheel drive. It also offers six hybrid trims to the CX-50's three and reaches 40 MPG combined against the CX-50 Hybrid's 38. Against that, the safety comparison is one-sided in the Mazda's favour: the 2026 CR-V holds no IIHS award, and it earns Poor on the updated moderate overlap front test where the CX-50 earns Good, with Acceptable on both front crash prevention tests. IIHS also records blind spot detection as optional on the CR-V and standard on the CX-50. For a buyer who wants front drive and hybrid choice, the CR-V. For a buyer reading the ratings, the CX-50.

Mazda CX-50 vs. Toyota RAV4

The 2026 RAV4 is a full redesign and is now hybrid-only, starting at $31,900. That figure excludes a dealer processing and handling fee, a different label from Mazda's destination and handling charge, so this page compares it against the Mazda's $29,900 directionally rather than in dollars. Directionally the RAV4 opens above the CX-50 and every version is a hybrid, so its fuel economy comfortably beats the CX-50's 26 MPG gas trims while it has nothing to answer the 256 hp Turbo. Its base grade is front drive, which the CX-50 never is. IIHS has not yet published any rating for the redesigned 2026 RAV4, so a buyer comparing 2026 credentials has a TOP SAFETY PICK+ for the Mazda and no published result for the Toyota. That is an absence of a rating, not a poor one. Toyota's release lists a blind spot monitor on the entry LE grade, so this is not a feature the RAV4 lacks.

How does the 2026 CX-50 compare to the Subaru Forester on insurance?
Their entry prices are effectively level: $29,900 against $29,995, both excluding destination. The CX-50 has blind spot monitoring standard on every trim, where Subaru sells it in a $1,200 package on Forester Premium. The Forester's IIHS card is cleaner, including Good for whiplash.

What Affects Your Mazda CX-50 Insurance Quote

The vehicle itself is one variable in what you actually pay. Your driver profile, coverage choices, and the way you finance the purchase shape the final premium as much or more than the trim you choose. Here are the factors most relevant to a CX-50 buyer.

Full coverage when financing

Every lender and lessor requires comprehensive and collision coverage for the full term of the loan or lease. This is a standard requirement across all vehicle financing, not something specific to Mazda or the CX-50. With MSRP running from $29,900 to $42,900 before destination, all financed CX-50 purchases carry this requirement from signing. For details on exactly what lenders require, see What Insurance Does Your Car Loan Require?

GAP insurance and new-vehicle depreciation

Buyers who finance a CX-50 with less than 20 percent down can enter negative equity early in the loan, where the outstanding balance exceeds the vehicle's current market value. If the vehicle is totalled or stolen during that window, standard insurance pays market value, not the loan payoff. GAP coverage pays the difference. On a vehicle CarEdge expects to shed 37 percent of its value over five years, that exposure is real at every trim level. For a full explanation, see GAP Insurance: What It Is and When You Need It.

All-wheel drive on every trim, so no front-drive lever

Buyers in mild-weather markets sometimes choose a front-drive crossover specifically to lower insurance cost, since front-drive vehicles carry lower replacement cost and simpler drivetrain repair. On the CX-50 that trade does not exist: i-Activ AWD is standard on every gas trim and electric all-wheel drive on every hybrid, with no front-drive alternative at any price. The Honda CR-V LX starts at $30,920 in front drive and the 2026 Toyota RAV4's base grade is front drive, so both give a buyer that option. The Subaru Forester does not; it is all-wheel drive across the range, like the CX-50.

Turbo powertrain and repair complexity

The 2.5 Turbo produces 256 hp on premium fuel and 227 hp on regular. Turbocharged engines add a turbocharger, an intercooler and charge cooling hardware, all of which cost more to repair after a collision, and the Turbo trims also sit at the top of the price ladder, from $37,900 to $42,900. Both effects push in the same direction. No publisher measures how far, so treat the Turbo as the more expensive trim group to insure without attaching a dollar figure to it, and budget for premium fuel as well if you want the full 256 hp.

Towing use and trailer liability

The tow rating depends on which CX-50 you buy. Mazda rates 2.5 S models at up to 2,000 pounds with a genuine Mazda tow hitch and 2.5 Turbo models at up to 3,500 pounds with Towing Mode engaged, and publishes no towing figure for the hybrid trims. Buyers who tow should confirm their liability coverage extends to trailer-involved accidents; some carriers require a separate trailer endorsement or cap trailer liability by weight class. Confirming that before the first tow avoids an unpleasant gap.

Driver profile effects

Driver age, driving history, credit score, annual mileage, and ZIP code together typically have a larger effect on the final premium than the trim choice. A 22-year-old with a recent at-fault accident will pay materially more than a 40-year-old with a clean record on the same CX-50 trim. Carrier choice also matters significantly: for the same driver on the same trim, rates can vary by $600 or more per year across insurers. Shopping multiple carriers at purchase is the single most effective step for controlling the ongoing insurance cost. See Polly's guide on How to Compare Car Insurance When Buying a Car for the comparison framework.

Theft risk: no figure published here

An earlier version of this page said Mazda vehicles carry a below-average national theft rate. No source was ever cited for it and none was found while rebuilding this page, so the claim has been removed rather than repeated. Theft loss does feed comprehensive premiums, but it varies enormously by market, and your own carrier's quote for your own ZIP code will tell you more than any national average.

Does financing a 2026 Mazda CX-50 require full coverage insurance?
Yes. Every lender and lessor requires comprehensive and collision coverage for the full term of the loan or lease on a financed 2026 Mazda CX-50. You cannot drop to liability-only until the loan is paid in full and you own the vehicle outright.
What factors affect 2026 Mazda CX-50 insurance rates?
Driver age, driving history, credit score, annual mileage and ZIP code lead. CX-50 specifics are the trim you pick across a $13,000 ladder, all-wheel drive on every trim with no front-drive option, and the powertrain. Carrier choice can move rates by hundreds a year.
Does the Mazda CX-50 come with front-wheel drive to save on insurance?
No. All-wheel drive is standard on all ten 2026 CX-50 trims, i-Activ AWD on gas trims and electric AWD on hybrids. There is no front-drive option at any price. The Honda CR-V and Toyota RAV4 both offer front-drive entry grades; the Subaru Forester does not.

How Mazda CX-50 Trim Levels Affect Your Insurance Cost

The 2026 CX-50 splits into three powertrain groups rather than two. Four naturally aspirated 2.5 S trims run the 187 hp SKYACTIV-G from $29,900 to $34,900. Three Hybrid trims run a 219 hp system with standard electric all-wheel drive from $34,750 to $40,150. Three 2.5 Turbo trims run the 256 hp engine from $37,900 to $42,900. Every one of the ten carries all-wheel drive, so there is no front-drive option to use as a cost lever anywhere in the range, and the core i-Activsense suite is identical throughout. That leaves replacement cost and powertrain complexity doing almost all the work in what separates one trim's premium from another's.

The two price groups overlap in a way worth knowing. A Hybrid Preferred at $34,750 undercuts the 2.5 S Premium at $34,900 by $150, so a buyer looking at the top naturally aspirated trim is effectively choosing between more equipment and 38 MPG combined at the same money. The 2.5 Turbo at $37,900 sits between the Hybrid Preferred and the Hybrid Premium. So the lineup is not a simple ladder; it is three ladders that interleave, and the cheapest route to a given feature set is not always the obvious one.

This page names no value sweet spot on insurance grounds, because doing so would mean inventing the numbers. It also does not state a cut-off trim for rear automatic braking or the 360 View Monitor: Mazda lists both under the top 2.5 Turbo Premium Plus and publishes no trim-by-trim grid, and IIHS records rear automatic braking as optional on this vehicle. Confirm both on the specific car you are quoting.

Trim MSRP Engine Drivetrain Front AEB / Ped AEB BSM / RCTA Lane keep Notable features
2.5 S Select $29,900 187 hp 2.5L i-Activ AWD S / S S / S S 10.25-inch display, wireless CarPlay and Android Auto, 8-speaker audio, 17-inch wheels
2.5 S Preferred $32,400 187 hp 2.5L i-Activ AWD S / S S / S S Panoramic moonroof, front and rear parking sensors, power liftgate, heated front seats
2.5 S Meridian Edition $33,150 187 hp 2.5L i-Activ AWD S / S S / S S 18-inch wheels with all-terrain tyres, black roof rails, gloss black badging
Hybrid Preferred $34,750 219 hp hybrid Electric AWD S / S S / S S 38 MPG combined, panoramic sunroof, parking sensors, 17-inch wheels
2.5 S Premium $34,900 187 hp 2.5L i-Activ AWD S / S S / S S Radar cruise with stop and go, traffic sign recognition, Bose audio, ventilated seats
2.5 Turbo $37,900 256 hp turbo i-Activ AWD S / S S / S S Paddle shifters, adaptive front lighting, head-up display, 3,500 lb tow rating
Hybrid Premium $38,150 219 hp hybrid Electric AWD S / S S / S S Radar cruise with stop and go, leather, Bose audio, reverse automatic braking
Hybrid Premium Plus $40,150 219 hp hybrid Electric AWD S / S S / S S Heated rear seats, adaptive front lighting, 19-inch wheels, head-up display
2.5 Turbo Meridian Edition $40,400 256 hp turbo i-Activ AWD S / S S / S S All-terrain tyres, online navigation, heated rear seats, secondary collision reduction
2.5 Turbo Premium Plus $42,900 256 hp turbo i-Activ AWD S / S S / S S 360 View Monitor, rear Smart Brake Support, Traffic Jam Assist, Blind Spot Assist, front cross traffic alert

S = standard. BSM = Blind Spot Monitoring; RCTA = Rear Cross Traffic Alert. Trim names are plain text until dedicated polly.co trim pages exist. MSRP excludes a $1,595 destination and handling charge. Mazda publishes no trim-by-trim availability grid for the 360 View Monitor or rear automatic braking beyond listing them under the 2.5 Turbo Premium Plus, so no column for those appears here. Source: Mazda USA Newsroom.

Is there a 2026 Mazda CX-50 Hybrid?
Yes. Mazda sells three: Hybrid Preferred $34,750, Hybrid Premium $38,150 and Hybrid Premium Plus $40,150, excluding destination. All make 219 horsepower with standard electric all-wheel drive and are EPA-rated at 38 MPG combined. Mazda covers the high-voltage battery for 96 months or 100,000 miles.
How much can a 2026 Mazda CX-50 tow?
It depends on the engine. Mazda rates 2.5 S models at up to 2,000 pounds with a genuine Mazda tow hitch, and 2.5 Turbo models at up to 3,500 pounds with Towing Mode engaged. Mazda publishes no towing rating for the hybrid trims.

What Does It Cost to Own a Mazda CX-50?

Depreciation and resale value

CarEdge expects a Mazda CX-50 to depreciate 37 percent over five years, leaving about 63 percent of its value, and puts the five-year resale figure at $25,035 against an assumed new price of $39,979 with 13,500 miles a year. An earlier version of this page set that retention against a "roughly 55-58 percent" segment average that no publisher publishes; it has been removed. The insurance implication stands on its own. A CX-50 bought near $29,900 keeps enough value at years three and four that comprehensive coverage still makes sense against the potential payout, where a faster-depreciating vehicle might prompt an earlier move to liability-only.

Warranty terms

Mazda's own 2026 warranty booklet sets the New Vehicle Limited Warranty at 36 months or 36,000 miles and the Powertrain Limited Warranty at 60 months or 60,000 miles, with anti-perforation coverage at 60 months on unlimited miles and roadside assistance at 3 years or 36,000 miles. A CX-50 Hybrid adds a High Voltage Battery Limited Warranty of 96 months or 100,000 miles. Correcting the previous version of this page: Mazda's booklet says in as many words that this is a transferable warranty, which matters to resale and so to how long comprehensive coverage pays for itself. The warranty covers mechanical failure; insurance covers accident damage.

Fuel economy and operating cost

EPA rates the naturally aspirated 2.5L at 24 city, 30 highway and 26 MPG combined; the 2.5 Turbo at 23, 29 and 25 combined; and the Hybrid at 39, 37 and 38 combined, with Mazda quoting a 551-mile total driving range. Note that the Turbo makes its full 256 hp only on premium fuel and drops to 227 hp on regular, so choosing the Turbo means paying more per mile as well as more to insure. The hybrid's 12 MPG combined advantage over the gas trims is the single largest running-cost difference inside the lineup, and it comes with electric all-wheel drive as standard rather than as an extra.

What are the ownership costs of the 2026 Mazda CX-50?
CarEdge puts five-year depreciation at 37 percent, leaving about 63 percent of value. Mazda covers the vehicle for 36 months or 36,000 miles, the powertrain for 60 months or 60,000 miles, and a hybrid battery for 96 months or 100,000 miles.

Find a 2026 Mazda CX-50 to Buy

Ready to configure your CX-50? Use Mazda USA's build-and-price tool to compare trims, select your color, and locate inventory at a dealer near you. When you arrive at the dealership, Polly works directly in the finance office to help you compare insurance quotes and bind coverage before you drive home.

Build & price a 2026 CX-50 at Mazda USA » Get insurance at the dealership »

Frequently Asked Questions: Mazda CX-50 Insurance

How does the 2026 CX-50 compare to the 2026 CX-30 on insurance cost?
The CX-50 should insure higher. It is a larger vehicle and starts at $29,900 against the CX-30's $26,375, on the same destination-excluding basis, and its ladder runs far higher. Both fit i-Activsense and all-wheel drive as standard equipment.
Is the 2026 Mazda CX-50 worth buying?
For buyers who want standard all-wheel drive, standard blind spot monitoring at the entry price, and a choice of gas, hybrid or turbo power, yes. Weigh the IIHS Poor whiplash grade and the absence of a front-drive option against that.

Sources